ARKANSAS Highway police

A DIVISION OF THE ARKANSAS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION



YV

KANSP

Q

1

P.O. BOX 2779 • LITTLE ROCK, AR 72203-2779 AHPRECRUITING@ARDOT.GOV 501-569-2421 • WWW.ARDOT.GOV



HISTORY

If law enforcement interests you, then look no further than the first state law enforcement agency — the Arkansas Highway Police.

Created during the 1929 General Assembly, 20 members became the first law enforcement officers in Arkansas to be officially commissioned by state law when the Arkansas Road Patrol was assigned to the Arkansas Department of Transportation (ARDOT). Their badges were inscribed with "Arkansas State Highway Police."

Through the years the unit has transferred between various state agencies, but it has always maintained its identity, purpose and dedication to serving the people of Arkansas. Since 1963, it has been part of the ARDOT family. In 1979, the unit became known as the Arkansas Highway Police. Since 1989, the powers and duties of the Transportation Safety Agency have been enforced by the Arkansas Highway Police. All officers carry a commission as an Agent of the Commissioner of Revenues.

Today, the Arkansas Highway Police is a nationally recognized leader in the fields of drug interdiction, motor carrier safety and hazardous materials enforcement, and training. Officers serve as instructors for the University of Arkansas Criminal Justice Institute, National Training Center, and the Drug Interdiction Assistance Program. Arkansas Highway Police primarily enforce all laws pertaining to the operation of motor carriers over the highways. These include:

- WEIGHT ENFORCEMENT
- OVER-DIMENSIONAL MOVEMENTS
- COMMERCIAL VEHICLE SAFETY REGULATIONS
- VEHICLE LICENSING
- MOTOR FUEL TAX
- SPEED RESTRICTIONS
- DRIVER LICENSING
- SAFE OPERATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES
- DRUG INTERDICTION
- IMPAIRED DRIVING





BENEFITS

 Annual Starting Salary of \$54,002 w/o CLEST, \$56,706 w/ CLEST, \$59,540 after 12 months

> Crittenden County Stations: \$59,202 w/o CLEST, \$61,906 w/ CLEST

- Annual, Sick, and Holiday Leave
- Uniform and Special Expense Monthly Allowance
- Certificate Pay (Arkansas CLEST)
- Arkansas State Highway Employees Retirement System
- Group Healthcare and Life Insurance Plans Available

REQUIREMENTS

EVERY OFFICER EMPLOYED BY A LAW ENFORCEMENT UNIT SHALL:

- Be a citizen of the United States and resident of Arkansas.
- Be at least 21 years of age.
- Possess a valid driver's license.
- Be interviewed personally prior to employment by the department head or his representative, or representatives to determine such things as the applicant's motivation, appearance, demeanor, attitude and ability to communicate.
- Be fingerprinted and a search initiated of state and national fingerprint files to disclose any criminal record.
- Be free of a felony record. A felony record shall mean having entered a plea of guilty, been found guilty, or otherwise having been convicted of an offense, the punishment for which could have been imprisonment in a federal penitentiary or a state penitentiary. The fact that an individual has received a pardon, or their record has been expunged shall not release the individual from having a felony record for the purposes of this regulation.
- Be of good character as determined by a thorough background investigation.
- Be a high school graduate or have passed the General Education Development (GED) Test indicating high school graduation level.
- Be examined by a licensed physician and meet the physical requirements.
- Be examined by an individual licensed to practice psychiatry or psychology and qualified to perform such evaluations in the State of Arkansas, who after examination finds the officer to be competent and recommends the agency hire the individual.

IT IS EMPHASIZED THAT THESE ARE MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR EMPLOYMENT OR APPOINTMENT. HIGHER STANDARDS ARE RECOMMENDED WHENEVER THE AVAILABILITY OF QUALIFIED APPLICANTS MEETS THE DEMAND.

Free language assistance for Limited English Proficient individuals is available upon request.

This notice is available from the ADA/504/Tittle VI Coordinator in large print, on audiotape and Braille



The Arkansas Department of Transportation (ARDOT) complies with all civil rights provisions of federal statutes and related authorities that prohibit discrimination in programs and activities receiving federal financial assistance. Therefore, the Department does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, color, age, national origin, religion (not applicable as a protected group under the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration Title VI Program), disability, Limited English Proficiency (LEP), or low-income status in the admission, access to and treatment in the Department's programs and activities, as well as the Department's hiring or employment practices. Complaints of alleged discrimination and inquiries regarding the Department's nonlicicimination policies may be directed to Civil Rights Officer Joanna P. McFadden (ADA/504/Title VI Coordinator), P. 0. Box 2261, Little Rock, AR 72203, (501) 569-2298, (Voice/TTY 711), or the following email address: joanna.mcfadden@ardot.gov.